Trade Customers click here
Harbour Publishing Publicity News

HARBOUR PUBLISHING PROMOTION NEWS

Covering upcoming events and publicity.
Last updated: Sept. 5th, 2019
Times listed are local to broadcasting city.

BESTSELLERS  | FALL 2019 | SPRING 2019 | FALL 2018 


BESTSELLERS


BC BESTSELLERS for week of August 31, 2019

Source: Association of Book Publishers of BC

#1 Roy Henry Vickers & Robert Budd - Sockeye Silver, Saltchuck Blue

#2 Judith Williams - Rainforest Chronicles 24

#10 J. Duane Sept - The New Beachcomber's Guide to the Pacific Northwest

#14 Carol Evans and Caroline Woodward -  A West Coast Summer

Canadian Bestsellers, week of September 3, 2019

Source: TBM Bookmanager

Other Category

#8 Gwen Sjogren - O Canada Crosswords Book 19

Fall 2019

 Sari Cooper - The Horse of the River|Chris Czajkowski & Fred Reid - Captured by Fire | Carol Rose GoldenEagle (Daniels) - Bone Black | John MacFarlane & Lynn J. Salmon - Around the World in a Dugout Canoe Patricia Sorbara - Let ‘Em Howl

Sari Cooper

The Horse of the River
978-1-55017-877-7, $12.95, Paperback
Pub date: September, 2019

Events

Book Launch at Greenhawk Equestrian Sport Store. The author will be signing books and chatting with visitors from 1-2pm on Saturday, September 14. There will be refreshments available and bookmarks and stickers to giveaway.

Media

Print/Online
Featured in Blaze horse magazine, Summer 2019

Chris Czajkowski & Fred Reid

Captured by Fire
978-1-55017-885-2, $24.95, Paperback
Pub date: September, 2019

Events

Chilcotin:
  • Slide show and talk at The Dutchman Restaurant (Chilcotin-Bella Coola Hwy, Nimpo Lake, BC) on September 13, 2019 at 5pm. Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Tatla Lake Community Hall (Tatla Lake, BC) on September 20, 2019 at 7pm. Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Alexis Creek Community Hall (2620 Stum Lk Road, Alexis Creek, BC) on September 21, 2019 at 7pm. Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
Cariboo:
  • Slide show and talk at  Central Cariboo Arts Centre (90 4th Ave N, Williams Lake, BC) on September 30, 2019 at 6:30pm. Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  100 Mile House Library (449 S. Birch Ave. 100 Mile House, BC) on October 1, 2019 at 6:30pm. Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
Okanagan:
  • Slide show and talk at  Revelstoke Regional Library (605 Campbell Avenue, Revelstoke, BC) on October 3, 2019 at 12pm. Chris attending--book sales by author
  • Slide show and talk at  South Shuswap Library (1–2425 Golf Course Drive, Blind Bay, BC) on October 4, 2019 at 1:30pm. Chris attending--book sales by author
  • Slide show and talk at  Salmon Arm Library (285 – 1151 10 Ave SW.--Piccadilly Mall, Salmon Arm, BC) on October 4, 2019 at 1:30pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Peachland Regional Library (Peachland Village Mall, 5500 Clements Crescent, Peachland, BC) on October 8, 2019 at 6:00pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Greater Vernon Museum and Archives, (3009 32nd Ave., Vernon, BC) on October 9, 2019 at 7:00pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Westbank Library (Westridge Mall, 31 – 2484 Main Street, West Kelowna, BC) on October 10, 2019 at 6:00pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
Vancouver Island:
  • Slide show and talk at  Courtenay Library (300 6th Street, Courtenay, BC) on October 15, 2019 at 6:00pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Nanaimo North Library (6250 Hammond Bay Road, Nanaimo, BC) on October 17, 2019 at 6:30pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Gabriola Island Library (5 – 575 North Road, Gabriola Island, BC) on October 19, 2019 at 2pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
Sunshine Coast:
  • Slide show and talk at  Powell River Public Library (Unit 100 – 6975 Alberni Street,Powell River, BC) on October 22, 2019 at 7pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
  • Slide show and talk at  Sechelt Public Library (5797 Cowrie Street, Sechelt, BC) on October 24, 2019 at 6:30pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
Sea to Sky:
  • Slide show and talk at  Squamish Public Library (37907 2nd Ave., Squamish, BC) on October 28, 2019 at 6:30pm. Chris attending--book sales by author
  • Slide show and talk at  Whistler Public Library (4329 Main Street, Whistler, BC) on October 29, 2019 at 7pm. Chris attending--book sales by author
Lower Mainland:
  • Slide show and talk at New Westminster Library (716 6th Ave., New Westminster, BC) on October 30, 2019 at 6:30pm.  Both Chris and Fred attending--book sales by authors
Kootenays:
  • Slide show and talk at  Salmo Public Library (106 4th St, Salmo, BC) on November 6, 2019, time TBC. Fred attending--book sales by author
  • Slide show and talk at  Nelson  Public Library (602 Stanley St, Nelson, BC) on November 7, 2019, time TBC. Fred attending--book sales by author

Media

Upcoming
Review in the Vancouver Sun (Lower Mainland, BC), date TBC

Carol Rose GoldenEagle (Daniels)

Bone Black
978-0-88971-364-2, $21.95, Paperback, Nightwood Editions
Pub date: October, 2019

Media

Print/Online
Included in Included in Toronto Star's "35 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in the Fall" (Ontario & online), August 30, 2019
Included in CBC Books: Canadian Fiction to Watch for this Fall, August 2, 2019

Notable Reviews

"A compelling and inventive narrative exploring the story of missing Indigenous women — this is a thriller in the vein of Gone Girl or Killing Eve, with a character, Wren, a female serial killer who metes out revenge and retribution in the most violent of ways." - Deborah Dundas, Toronto Star August 2019

John MacFarlane & Lynn J. Salmon

Around the World in a Dugout Canoe
978-1-55017-879-1, $29.95, Hardcover
Pub date: September, 2019

Events

Book signing at The Mulberry Bush Bookstore (130 W. 2nd Avenue, Qualicum Beach), Saturday, September 28, 2019 from 1-2pm. Both John and Lynn will attend.
Book launch and illustrated talk at the Vancouver Maritime Museum (1905 Ogden Ave. in Vanier Park, Vancouver), Thursday, October 3, 2019 at 7:30pm. Both John and Lynn will attend. Book sales by the Vancouver Maritime Museum gift shop.
Illustrated talk at the Powell River Public Library (Unit #100 - 6975 Alberni Street, Powell River) on Wednesday, November 13, 2019 at 7pm. John MacFarlane only. Book sales by author
Illustrated talk at the Sechelt Public Library (5797 Cowrie St, Sechelt) on Thursday, November 14, 2019 at 3pm. John MacFarlane only. Book sales by Talewind Books (TBC)
Illustrated talk at the Sooke Museum (5797 Cowrie St, Sechelt) on Sunday, November 17, 2019, time TBC. John MacFarlane only. Book sales by Sooke Museum Giftshop

Media

Upcoming
Feature in BC Bookworld (BC), Autumn 2019
Review in Pacific Yachting (BC), date TBC
Review in The Vancouver Sun (Lower Mainland, BC), date TBC
Review in The Ormsby Review, date TBC

Patricia Sorbara

Let ‘Em Howl
978-0-88971-358-1, $22.95, Paperback, Nightwood Editions
Pub date: October, 2019

Media

Upcoming
Interview with TVO  The Agenda with Steve Paikin (Ontario), taping date October 10, 2019, broadcast date TBC
Interview with Global TV Focus Ontario (Ontario), Saturday, October 5, 2019 at 5:30pm, rebroadcasting October 6, 2019
Interview and article in The Sudbury Star, date TBC

Spring 2019

Sarah de Leeuw - Outside, America | Alex Laidlaw - Dead Flowers | Matt Rader - Visual Inspection | J. Duane Sept - The New Beachcomber’s Guide to the Pacific Northwest | Roy Henry Vickers & Robert Budd - Sockeye Silver, Saltchuck Blue | Judith Williams - Raincoast Chronicles 24 

Sarah de Leeuw

Outside, America
978-0-88971-354-3, $18.95, Paperback, Nightwood Editions
Pub date: April 27,2019

Events

Prince Rupert Book Launch (Prince Rupert Public Library), Wednesday, September 18 at 7pm. Book sales by Eddie’s News.
Terrace Book Launch (Terrace Public Library), Thursday, September 19 at 7pm. Book sales by Misty River Books.

Alex Laidlaw

Dead Flowers
978-0-88971-355-0, $19.95, Paperback, Nightwood Editions
Pub date: April 27, 2019 

Media

Print/Online
Review in The Ormsby Review, August 20, 2019

Matt Rader

Visual Inspection
978-0-88971-356-7, $18.95, Paperback, Nightwood Editions
Pub date: April 27, 2019 

Media

Print/Online
Review in The Ormsby Review, August 15, 2019

J. Duane Sept

The New Beachcomber’s Guide to the Pacific Northwest
978-1-55017-837-1, $28.95, Paperback, Harbour Publishing
Pub date: April 13, 2019

Bestseller

#10 BC Bestseller list, week of August 31, 2019

Roy Henry Vickers & Robert Budd

Sockeye Silver, Saltchuck Blue
978-1-55017-870-8, $9.95, Board book, Harbour Publishing
Pub date: May 25, 2019 

Bestseller

#1 BC Bestseller list, week of August 31, 2019

Judith Williams

Raincoast Chronicles 24
978-1-55017-862-3, $26.95, Paperback, Harbour Publishing
Pub date: April 27, 2019

Bestseller

#2 BC Bestseller list, week of August 31, 2019

Media

Print/Online
Podcast Interview with The Commentary, Posted June 18, 2019

TV/Radio
 Interview on CBC Radio’s North by Northwest (BC), Saturday, August 24, 2019 at 8:30am

Fall 2018

Carol Evans and Caroline Woodward - A West Coast Summer | Gwen Sjogren - O Canada Crosswords Book 19 

Carol Evans and Caroline Woodward

A West Coast Summer
978-0-55017-843-2, $19.95, Hardcover
Pub date: September, 2018

Bestseller

#14 BC Bestseller list, week of August 31, 2019

Gwen Sjogren

O Canada Crosswords Book 19
978-0-88971-349-9, $14.95, Paperback, Nightwood Editions
Pub date: October, 2018

Bestseller

#8 National Bestseller list, Other category, week of September 3, 2019

LAST UPDATED: September 5, 2019
俺去他俺来他最新官网